Applause

You know those moments when you are just hum-drumming along in your day and suddenly you are catapulted into a glimpse of the eternal?  Sometimes it’s one of those majestic Texas sunrises or sunsets that literally takes your breath away.  Sometimes it’s a great conversation with a trusted friend or a song we love.  Little foretastes of Heaven that remind our feeble hearts that this isn’t all there is to The Story.

I had one of those moments the other day with my toddler.  The day was progressing pretty normally…breakfast, see daddy off to work, diaper changes somewhere along the way, reading, play time.  My son was playing with a sound machine that has various nature noises and when it came to “Rain” – he started clapping…then he pressed “Ocean” – more clapping.  I was instantly jarred out of my routine thoughts of the day and caught up into the realm of the bigger Reality…that while I sit playing with my toddler all creation is singing God’s praise.  ThatThe heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.  Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words…Yet their voice goes out into all the earth.” 

What an innocent and appropriate observation my son made.  Of course the rain sounds like clapping….of course the ocean waves crashing upon the shore sound like clapping to his little mind.  “Whoever has ears to hear, let them hear.” (Jesus)  Ah, but how often I miss out on truly hearing.  So caught up in this life that I don’t take the step back to see beyond the veil.  And in moments like these, a gentle reminder jars me back into the real Reality.  The one where my God sits enthroned with my Savior Jesus at His right hand interceding for me.  The reality where all of my prayers are being heard…in fact they rise before God’s throne as incense…a sweet aroma.  The reality where legions of angels literally utter “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty” without ceasing.  The reality where all of my tears…EVERY…SINGLE…ONE…is bottled up and accounted for by my God.  The reality that promises every tear will be wiped away and everything held into account by my King, the one true Judge.  The reality where Good vs. Evil play out on a grand stage each day in the battle for my heart and my mind.  The reality that if I keep silent about, even the rocks will cry out in praise.

May these moments come with increasing frequency in my life and yours until the day at last we behold our King.  And may we, along with the rocks, the trees, the oceans, and the rain, proclaim His glory until the end.

This entry was posted in BIBLE, JESUS, LIFE, MOTHERHOOD, PURPOSE, UNEXPECTED JOY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

