Worry

I was convicted this morning as I sat writing out my to do list and began plugging away. Quiet time…meh…I’ll get to that later…this stuff just can’t wait!  The Tyranny of the Urgent strikes again!  I think part of my daily dying to self is dying to my to-do list!  Prying my fingers from my to-do list in exchange for my Bible can be [almost] as difficult as getting my toddler to brush his teeth.

And yet…when I set down the million of things I feel like I need to accomplish – there is always great blessing.  At the very least, a measure of peace that anchors me and readies me for tackling what’s on the list in a little bit less of a frenzied, crazy-woman pace.  It puts things in perspective and brings order to my chaos.  It lights my path.

Maybe that’s why Jesus said “do not worry about your life”.  He didn’t say don’t think about it, don’t plan, don’t prepare.  He said don’t worry.  And He followed it with “…BUT seek first His [God’s] Kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” {Matt 6:25-33}

My Bible commentary sums this up nicely:

Worrying has the connotation of dividing, separating and distracting.  A woman cannot worry and trust God at the same time because worry destroys the single-hearted devotion Jesus described.

So why do we worry?  Sometimes we don’t even call it worry – we exchange “worried” for “stressed” or “busy” because that’s a. socially acceptable and b. makes me look cooler than I am that I have so many things on my plate – I must be in high demand.  If we were to give an honest answer when choosing worry, we should say: “I’m choosing disobedience right now”.  Ha, wouldn’t that be funny.

But funny aside, worry is disobedience.  It’s a choice.  That’s what Jesus said.  So, do I take Him seriously or will I keep choosing worry and be divided in my heart and mind?  What about you?  What choice are you going to make?

Worry divides me
My mind wanting peace
But tethered to other things
My heart wanting rest
But tethered to stress
So much of accomplishing
Is all about me
And in that place
I am not free
Because freedom only comes
When I get lost in You
My eyes can’t focus left or right
And gaze at You too
So I must choose
Lord, help me to fix my eyes on You

{Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles.  And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.}
Hebrews 12:1-2

This entry was posted in JESUS, LIFE, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

